Super Sonic Secrets of the Teacherhood- Premise/Theme

Published August 6, 2014 by jflakerabe

To be honest, I am the kind of writer that doesn’t plan my books out.  I just write the first entire draft.  Then I go through it, filling in plot holes.  Then I go through it again and look for more natural conflict, then I repeat all the edits.  What a load of work.  I think I could be much quicker if I plan.  So I will try this time around.

Premise:  I really wanted to write this book because teachers’ jobs are really difficult, and I wanted to express that humorously.   Good teachers do not get into teaching for the money or business perks, its because we love to talk 🙂 and we love to help others grow.

The Premise for this book is to show a fictional, yet sometimes realistic side to teaching that only teachers see.  I want to show a humorous way of dealing with the hangups of a teacher, and then of course by the end of the book, show realistic ways of dealing with your problems.  Also, I want to show that age and experience do affect a friendship, but shouldn’t destroy a friendship.

Theme:  The one that comes to mind is that an easy-fix is not the best fix.  Teachers try drastic measures to “fix” themselves at the end of the year, trying to pick up the pieces of their lives they lost while school was in session.

Also walking a mile in someone else’s shoes helps you know how to help you sympathize.  The student is going to become really good friends with the teacher, but the major conflict is that the student is young, and doesn’t know all of what adults have to go through.  And the adult cannot remember the dramas that come with being a teenager.  Learning to accept and respect each other’s struggles is a big part of having a friendship.

Well these are the ones that come to mind, but again, this is all backwards to me.  I usually write a story, and a theme somehow creeps in as I finish.  Then I just work it in, but it also means it sometimes seems forced, so I am excited to try it this way.

What do you guys think?

2 comments on “Super Sonic Secrets of the Teacherhood- Premise/Theme

  • Very nice. Premise and theme are the key to everything. When I face an important moment in my stories, I always check myself to make sure my ideas fit into every scene. When Sydney Pollack directed “Out of Africa” he said he made sure every decision he made fit within his overall theme.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

